About Me (Ms. Madsen)

The Biographical Stuff: I was born in North Vancouver. I went to elementary school in North Vancouver. I went to high school in North Vancouver. I did my teaching practicum in North Vancouver. For 16 years I taught in North Vancouver. I thought I was going to die in North Vancouver. Then I surprised myself and everyone I know and up and moved 500 km east to the Boundary. I now find myself at Grand Forks Secondary. Not gonna lie: it’s a big change. But it’s an exciting challenge. And the kids are awesome.

The Fun Stuff: I’m an unabashed nerd who loves books, Star Trek and history. My goal is to see as much of this wonderful world as possible (except maybe the parts with big, scary spiders). I’m a coffee addict who likes movies, but prefers films. I am a baseball fan in a hockey world. (Sigh.) I like to ride my bike and have dabbled in stand-up comedy. I think curling is a truly cool and exciting sport. I am fascinated by Winston Churchill and watch way too much CNN.

The Teachery Stuff: I did both my Arts degree (joint major in English and French Lit) and Education at SFU, and have spent most of my career teaching English. I have done a little second language teaching (French and Spanish) and Social Studies on the side. But English is what I love and what I do best. Why would anyone wanna teach anything else?! I try to have fun because if I don’t want to come to school, why would my students?

The Philosophical Stuff: I suffer from “relentless restlessness” (things can always be better). I love talking assessment. I hate grading. I know technology is no longer an option. I am an inquiry-based learning enthusiast and UBD disciple. I am jazzed by BC’s new curriculum and look forward to deeper learning experiences for my students. I believe all slideshows should have cats in them because life needs a little whimsy. My driving motivation is to equip my students to thrive in the rapidly changing world that awaits them. Because as I said, they’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *